Greenland: Kalaallit Nunaat (Land of the Greenlanders)

Location: Between the Arctic and Atlantic Oceans

Area: 2,175,600 km² (the same size as France, Great Britain, Germany, Spain, Italy, Austria, Switzerland and Belgium all combined, or slightly more than three times the size of Texas); 85% of the land is permanently covered by ice

Length from North to South: 2,800 kilometres or 1,740 miles (slightly longer than the straight line distance between Winnipeg, Canada, and Monterrey, Mexico)

Form of Government: Self-governance, as part of the Danish Kingdom

Head of Government: Prime Minister Kim Kielsen, Siumut

Population: 56.114 (as of July 2015)

Population density: 0.14/ km² calculated on the basis of ice-free areas

Capital City: Nuuk (16.992 inhabitants, as of 2015)

Official Languages: Greenlandic, Danish

Religion: Evangelical Lutheran

GDP: $1,93 billion (as of 2011)

Industry: Fishing, Mining, Tourism

Currency: Danish Kroner (DKK)

Time Zone: GMT-3 hours (Ittoqqortoormiit GMT-1; Thule Air Base GMT-4)